That Friday Feeling; Friend or Foe?

That Friday feeling. When you work a Monday to Friday job there is usually nothing better than when the end of your work day on a Friday – which for me is 3:30pm – comes round and you are practically skipping out the door.

h7EDD7CB5

For the first time that week, everybody in the office is your best friend and you are singing ‘byeeeee’ as you leave and wishing everyone a good weekend – essentially the complete polar opposite to how you greet them on a Monday morning. I’m a bit smug on account that when I leave, a lot of staff are still working as they don’t finish until 5pm – gimme a break guys, I am in at the crack of dawn at 7:30am!

Whilst I so look forward to a Friday night, and the weekend in general, I can’t always say that my weekends are fulfilled. I do sometimes walk back into work on the Monday morning and think, “What the actual f**k did I do with my time off!?”. This was one of many matters I discussed with my therapist this year – the fact that when I do have time on my hands, I’m not utilising the time appropriately to do the things I, apparently, really enjoy doing. I guess old habits die hard when you have had bouts of depression where doing anything, even something considered enjoyable and fulfilling, can be tasking.

The easy thing about going to work is you have a job to do and, well if you don’t, you get fired – it’s as simple as that. There is no option for you to sit with your thoughts and hope that your day starts without you actually putting the work in. I actually find life outside of work more challenging, which is why I found I struggled more being at home when I was signed off work sick for a period several years ago. I have found that I can’t always be trusted to find my own sense of contentment.

Hopefully this is something that writing again can help with, give me some form of a sense of enjoyment and purpose as opposed to staring into space whilst being the potato on the couch wishing for something to happen.

Thankfully tonight I have my husband coming home with some alcoholic beverages and then I’m going to start the new The Dark Pictures Anthology: Man of Madan game that was just realised today by Supermassive Games. I have been so looking forward to this game coming out after playing Until Dawn around a year/two years ago. I must admit I’m not very good at these games, I think I managed to keep two of the six characters alive from the Until Dawn game which is hopefully not a reflection to how I would cope with a similar situation in real life…

I hope that whatever you are doing, whether it is working or at home, that you are having a great Friday!

Robyn ♥

 

One thought on “That Friday Feeling; Friend or Foe?

  1. Pingback: Sundays; The Other End of The Spectrum |

Leave a comment